The Sixth Form Diaries: An Introduction to My College Life

Aside from feminist rants and political musings, I don’t really know what else to write about whilst I get into the swing of writing  a blog. What exactly am I supposed to write about?

I don’t know.

So, while I figure that out, I thought I’d write about the current place I’m in my life for anybody who decides to read this, however, I will probably want to reflect on whatever I’m about to write in a few months and then I may or may not delete it. The former being the most likely option. So, for now, we’ll call this ‘The Sixth Form Diaries’. I don’t know if that’s original.

I’m at a place in my life where I’m deciding what subjects to study, where to study and what I want to do with my life, which is a frustrating and exciting prospect. It’s as though I get to become an adult which is a frightening idea, especially considering the fact I still feel like a child. Despite that, I get to study what I want to study, get drunk every day (no, not really) and make new friends.

Last weekend was one of my best friend’s eighteenth birthday party, so naturally, I began to think about what it will be like when I turn eighteen in February. Not only that, I also got to spend a lot of time with some of my friends who were super drunk, so not only did it give me a glimpse of my life in the future (I will definitely be the designated driver) but I also made so many fun memories. I think my favourite part of the evening was when everyone danced and sang as loud as possible to the Grease soundtrack, which you never really can go wrong with.

I love my life right now. I am ahead of the game (getcha head in the game!) with UCAS, I’m enjoying all my subjects, making lots of memories, not doing enough revision (don’t worry, I’m sorting myself out), watching way too much TV (I can not stop watching Once Upon a Time. Can. Not. Stop. Watching.) and not-so-quietly anticipating the presidential election (I inherently Feel The Bern, fyi). Maybe I should write about that.

The saddening aspect of it all is that it will come to an end in a few months. We will go our separate ways and some people I may never see again. People I have called friends for the last seven years I won’t see every day and we may never talk. It saddens me knowing that I won’t have weekly coffee dates with my friends or banter in my college classes. I’ve genuinely come to love these people and spending time with them, and a part of me doesn’t feel ready to let it go. I don’t want to go on about it too much because I will probably get a bit too upset. Ha. For me, that, and the concept of moving away from home make everything seem daunting.

So I guess if you actually read this and want to take away something from it, just… don’t waste your time. Make memories and live in the moment, as cliche and cringey (I’m  aware that cringey is not a word) as it sounds, because these days go by incredibly fast.

 

3 thoughts on “The Sixth Form Diaries: An Introduction to My College Life

  1. With regards to the idea of leaving friends behind, it is a daunting prospect, yes. However, while the distance is still a factor, Skype and instant messaging serve to show that it’s not a matter of 100% abandonment. If a friendship is worth having, you’ve got the tools to help keep it.

    1. True. I mean, we still end up talking to you almost every day, no matter how much we try to get rid of you. Haha.

Leave a Reply

